Taxing The Shirt On My Back

When I was at Men’s Wearhouse yesterday, Kimberly and Elli picked out a purple shirt to go with the purple-and-black tie Elli had found for me. I vetoed the choice of shirts — but only because of the $50 pricetag. As I told the salesmen, no self-respecting redneck pays $50 for a shirt!

So today, I did what any self-respecting redneck does when on the quest for Sunday-go-to-meetin’ clothes: I went the J.C. Penney in Manassas and found a shirt that looks just as nice for about $20.

I also bought two other dress shirts while there because my white-collar working wardrobe hasn’t changed much in the past three years or so. It’s time for a little colorful variety. Add the dress socks and a second tie because of a great sale and the tax bill came to $5.35.

Leave a Reply

