I Hate Suits!

I haven’t bought a suit in a decade or more because I don’t wear them. I rarely wear ties, and when I have to dress up, I much prefer a sport coat and slacks to a suit. It’s a West Virginia thing.

Unfortunately, I had to go buy a suit today. I have a work-related gala to attend in a couple of weeks and the attire is “cocktail.” Kimberly said that means I need to wear a suit, so we trekked to Men’s Wearhouse today.

I had to fork over $320 for the suit and $80 for new dress shoes. My daughter Elli also picked out a purple and black tie for me. I love to see her in purple and just couldn’t say no when she wanted to dress me in the same color.

The total bill came to $451.47, including $21.50 in taxes. Now I know why I quit wearing and buying suits! Our family budget can’t really take the hit right now, but hey, at least I’m doing my part to “stimulate” the economy.

Leave a Reply

