Think Twice About Taxes Before Eating Out

The weather neared 70 degrees early today and Kimberly called me at work to say I needed to get out of the office for lunch and a stroll through Old Town Alexandria.

I’m always happy to oblige such requests, but I will say that I have to think twice about it now that I’m blogging about taxes. I know that every restaurant meal not only costs me more for the food than lunch from the grocery store but also for the taxes — 2.5 percent for groceries vs. 5 percent for the “eat-in” tax, plus an extra local sales tax in Alexandria.

Today, I paid 49 cents in taxes for a steak salad from Chipotle.

Leave a Reply

