Buy A Car, Go Without Food

This time last year, we took the plunge and bought a new minivan. The Oldsmobile Silhouette we had bought used from my parents had about 150,000 miles on it, so we jumped at the chance to lock in 0 percent interest on a new 2006 Toyota Sienna.

Our salesman reminded us of that purchase with a corny “anniversary” letter several days ago. The letter made me remember the tax sticker shock I had when we bought the car, so I dedided to relive the experience.

At a rate of 3 percent, we paid $692.04 in sales taxes. But that’s not all. There was also a $38.76 charge for the “dealer’s business license tax,” $34.50 for “government license fees” and $10 for “government certificate of title fees.”

The total tab for taxes and fees for a new car: $775.30. That’s enough to feed a family of four for two months or more, even with today’s inflation.

2 Responses to “Buy A Car, Go Without Food”

  1. pmccord Says:

    I’m not sure where you live, but don’t fret too much. I live in Texas. Based on the 3% tax you paid, the price you paid for your minivan was $23,068. In Texas, the sales tax alone would be $1,441.75.

    Don’t know if that makes you feel any better, but I’m envious of your 3% tax.

    Paul McCord http://salesandmanagementblog.com

  2. pajkaki Says:

    I don’t suppose you’re envious of his (or my) state income tax, too? Texas being one of the seven or eight (?) states with no income tax. I guess we all have our crosses to bear (some are just bigger than others).

Leave a Reply

